Holiday Treats

Let’s all breathe a deep sigh of relief. Exams are over. Of course, this time next year I’ll be flying back to Vermont and using my vacation days from work (crazy to think), but for right now, I am very, very relaxed and happy that the semester is over.

I have, however, lost many of my foodie pics.

In the middle of a week where I submitted over 120 pages of academic writing, my new MacBook Pro decided to get its hardware all corrupted and put me in a position where I had to choose between my photos and spending another 4 hours in the Apple Store. I opted to save my GPA, and thus, all my documentation of platters of Ethiopian in Washington DC were lost. Alas.

But! All is not lost! It is the holiday season and good cheer must be baked. Here is what I’ve been up to in the last week. Don’t dismiss these recipes by their simplicity – the marshmallow pops, for instance, were the only holiday treats entirely devoured when present in my mom’s office.

1) Chocolate Marshmallow Pops

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag marshmallows
  • 35 lollipop sticks
  • 10 oz. dark chocolate
  • 1 tsp shortening (or a bit of butter)
  • 1/2 cup crushed candy canes
  • 1/2 cup crushed Heath or Skor bars (2 bars)
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
Voila!

Voila!

Instructions:

  1. Insert lollipop sticks into marshmallows, taking care not to poke them through the other side.
  2. Place chocolate and shortening in a medium-sized microwave-proof bowl. Microwave on 50% power, stirring every 30 seconds, until melted and smooth.
  3. Dip marshmallow into the chocolate until three-quarters of the marshmallow is coated. Tap the stick while holding the marshmallow over the bowl to get rid of excess chocolate.
  4. Immediately sprinkle the chocolate coating with candy cane, Heath Bar, or shredded coconut (Oreos are also another delicious option).
  5. Poke the sticks into a piece of florist’s styrofoam. Let the chocolate dry. Then enjoy!

2) Chocolate Nutella Fudge with Sea Salt Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • Butter, for greasing pan
  • 1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 8 oz. high-quality bittersweet (60% cacao) chocolate chips
  • 1 cup Nutella, room temperature
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperatur, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
In my mind, the more sea salt, the better.

In my mind, the more sea salt, the better.

Instructions:

  1. Grease the bottom and sides of an 8-by-8 inch baking pan with butter. Line the pan with parchment paper, leaving a 2-inch overlap on the sides.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together sweetened condensed milk, vanilla, bittersweet chocolate chips, Nutella, and butter.
  3. Form a double-boiler by setting the bowl on a medium pot of gently simmering water. The water level should be low enough that the bottom of the bowl does not touch the water. Stir until the chocolate chips are melted and the mixture is smooth, 5 to 7 minutes.
  4. Scape the mixture into the prepared pan, spread the top smooth with a spatula, and sprinkle with sea salt. Refrigerate until the fudge is firm, at least 2 hours.
  5. Cut the fudge into 3/4-inch squares. Store in the refrigerator in an airtight container or wrapped well in plastic wrap and foil. Sprinkle again with more sea salt if desired.

3) Peppermint Meltaways: 

My mom makes these every year and they’re divine. Found these fun recipe cards from Savvy Eats and attached them to the Christmas cards I sent out.

Mmm mmm.

Mmm mmm.