Grilled Cheese Deliciousness

There’s nothing like homemade grilled cheese on a crisp New England fall day. On Monday afternoon, I had a need-you-in-my-mouth-right-now kind of hankering for greasy comfort food, but was looking for something a bit more unique than some halfheartedly thrown slabs of American cheese on Wonder bread. Now, I want to preface this by saying I don’t do much shopping at Whole Foods, but in my intense tunnel vision for nom, my stomach made an overriding decision that good grilled cheese was something worth irrationally splurging on. [Side note: I now feel compelled to vent about Whole Foods. Um, have you seen their elaborate cheese counter? I was so curious by some of their options, until I realized one goddamn ounce of cheese would cost me $17.50. How does anyone justify that purchase?? Okay, had to get that out of my system…moving on.]

I picked up a loaf of rosemary olive oil bread (really flaky and left a mess on the counter later, but all in all delicious) with three types of cheese: brie, extra sharp cheddar, and gruyere.

Like I said a couple posts ago, I really am a sucker for anything salty and sweet at the same time, so I picked up some fig jam for sandwich spreading. Guacamole then caught my eye and anyone who knows me understands my inability to resist avocados in any shape or form.

Got home and voila! A really good lunch.

The perfect pair isn’t a PB&J, it’s GC&TS. You know what I’m talking about.

Leave a Reply

